The Royal High School Club


What we do
Photos and Archives
Where are they?
Contact us
Join Us


The Royal High School  Club  was founded in 1849 with the objective of maintaining the history and standards of the principal school of Edinburgh.   

Welcome to the Club website - we hope you enjoy its features.


HRH The Duke of Kent visited the School on 19th January 2020, as a delayed part of the Barnton 50th celebrations.  A full report is available in the news pages.


The 2019 Remembrance Service was held on Monday 11th November.    A report and photographs can be seen in the news pages.


The 2019 Prize Giving was held on Friday 28th June.    A report and photographs can be seen in the news pages.


The 2019 Annual Dinner was held on Friday 22nd March in the Principal Charlotte Square.    The toast to the Club and School was offered by Professor Peter Hayes, Head of the Division of Health Sciences, Edinburgh University.    Photographs of the event in the  news pages.


The 50th Anniversary of the Barnton Campus establishment is being held in 2018.

Aside the 'Royal Preview for two' (see the news pages), other events were:


Procession/Sponsored Walk from Regent Road to Barnton -  photos here, and video here


Gala Dinner at Dynamic Earth, October 5th - photos here, KT singers here.

During the Gala Dinner, John Murray, Ken Thomson (Mr KT) and Anne Richards were expertly filmed by Ian Cowie for the digital history.     Youtube links to the videos are available on request.


Memorial tablets for those FP's who died in World War 2 were unveiled on November 9th.   The tablets were researched, designed and commissioned by a Former Pupil, with funding provided by the Royal High School Club.     Photographs are available in the news pages.


A New President

April saw the installation of a new President.     Ian Cowie, committee member for several years, took over from David Williamson, and one of his first duties was to chair the Prize Giving.    See the news pages for a report and photographs.

A new School History - in digital format for the first time, can be obtained from Alastair Allanach who co-edits the product with Tom Bacciarelli.

Committee   For pen pictures of the committee, please click here



2018 Royal Preview for Two.   Alan Blyth and Keith MacConnachie are joined by their contemporary classmates and two future first formers


Were you in the pipe band?... this 1952 photo could be of interest to you


Catriona Morison (leaving year 2003) wins the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World competition, 2017


[Home] [News] [What we do] [Photos and Archives] [Where are they?] [Links] [Contact us] [Events] [Shop] [Join Us]

Send mail to  with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2002-2019 Asti Products
Last modified: 01/21/19